Saying goodbye

My uncle passed away on Monday afternoon. Beautifully. Peacefully. Today is his funeral and it’s pretty tough to be here when I really want to be there in Florida. But I imagine the waves are drumming out there at sea and the folks there can hear the roar of the ocean as they say final goodbyes. I was going to wear black today but it didn’t feel right, so I chose a vibrant red-orange colour. It makes me think of him, vibrant and healthy and happy. I wondered if I might be totally weird for that.

Anyway, I’m there in spirit, listening to ocean, smelling the salt air and saying goodbye.

One thought on “Saying goodbye

  1. Laura says:

    Weird? If honouring the life (not the death) of a loved one is werid then I don’t want to be normal.

    I know he appreciates you being there, even if it’s just in spirit.

Leave a Reply

