wondering

Breaking with old ties
how do we ever?
Tears as fresh dew dry up in the sun
of imaginary happiness
Abstracts of emotions swirl together
when I mention
your name
Uncertainty opaques the translucence of
fresh feeling
Must I say goodbye so I can say Hello?
Is it possible to cut the cords
binding my love
from ages gone to dust?
A new bud, dried
never to bloom
Cast it to the wind of time
or press it
between the pages of memory?
So frail and easy to damage
it was
Now heavier than all the earth
Have I the strength
to let go?

(May 20, 1992)

Leave a Reply

