Son of earth and sky

I heard you wake at dawn
And followed your steps
To the edge of the desert
Watched you stand with
Arms flung out to embrace
The sun and the wind
My brilliant desert prince,
Son of earth and sky  

I walked the desolation
Thirsting for someone’s love
Knowing it would only be
My own that could save me
When you rose out of the sand
To salve my wounds with
Your hands of healing
Son of earth and sky

You greeted the moon alone
Singing the song of night
Shirt billowing out behind
You stepped from myth
Your head crowned with stars
And eyes that told me the truth
From your heart of love
Son of earth sky

(January 18, 2004)

Leave a Reply

