The last walk

I have been bedecked in brilliant gems, my mind in a vacant stupour

Had gold flowing through my hands and been poor in my generosity

Received my share of praise and blame

But in the end all is made even – Karma

Only here for a season, so brief a time

I must go Home, just like every body – Dharma

The purple velvet of Twilight holds me gently

As a babe rocked to sleep in mother’s love

Stars peep out and kiss my fears

And waves sing me the eternal lullabye

My silver footsteps tread moonbeams toward Rest

No gold or trinket follows me here

Accolades reduce to whispers; rebukes come to naught – Peace

I return, without burdens, to Mother Earth and Father Sky

And dance the rhythm of forever – Aum

(2001)

Leave a Reply

