weeping

my heart is weeping and its tears
are these lines that I write
to keep my head up when I feel alone
to hold my flesh together when my
spirit abandons me to sorrow

i hold dreams and visions in my hand
but they are not to be
i worked them into the soil of my
conscious thought and watered them
with my hopes

but the land is hard and barren here
dry as dust, dead as salt
shall I shoulder my rake and
walk North to the promise of new
lights and Tomorrow?

I fear to put my pen away lest
the life blood of my happiness run
dry as the page that accepts my
thoughts without question
and so I write

(February 13, 2004)

Leave a Reply

