Quotables from the mom

I introduce a new segment tonight, folks. My mother says many, many quotable things and they should be captured. Preserved – somehow. Shared. I don’t want to make fun of her. I love her dearly and yet … Well, ok fine. We HAVE to laugh. Feel free to share your own quotables …

Tonight’s feature is an oldie-but-a-goodie from some time in 2002 while watching Fellowship of the Ring. (Keep in mind, I’d only watched this movie 859 times by then. 🙂 )

“Is that Gondorf? Run, Gondorf, run! Blow your horn, Gondorf! Don’t get killed. What an idiot.”

(Boromir has now been officially renamed “Gondorf” in our house. Poor fool. Why didn’t he listen to the sage advice of “Don’t get killed?” Why, Gondorf? Why?)

2 thoughts on “Quotables from the mom

  1. Frodo-lass says:

    HAHAHAHA!! Poor Boromir! So what is Gandalf called?

    That reminds me of my mom who calls flies stupid when she’s trying to set them free when they’re trapped in the screen door. She bangs on the glass to try to force the flies out and when they don’t move, she calls them stupid for not wanting to be free.

  2. ~lara says:

    LOLOLOL. Stupid flies. Who doesn’t want to be free?

    My mum does have a weird name for Gandalf but I can’t remember it right now. I’ll ask Mike. But Mike’s friend Andre (who shall be immortalized here one day, I’m sure of it) calls him The Wizard of Argonaut. I can’t even fathom why. Andre’s brain is a scary place to get trapped.

    But the best is Langino! Andre stayed over at our place one night and he, Mike and Richard (yes some 20=year-olds and a 6-year-old) were shooting nerf arrows and swordfighting with each other. Suddenly Andre (who has the nerf bow) says “I’m just like that guy in Lord of the Rings. The blonde guy. What’s his name … Langino or something?”

    Yes, Legolas shall ever more be “Langino.” I can’t even think “Legolas” when I look at him.

Leave a Reply

