A tear trickles slowly

I watched the tear falling
as though I was not myself
locked in a closet of disbelief
watching you walk away

could not remember
who said the final words
that took my heart away and
left me open as the sky

tears trickling one by one
as though afraid to be seen
in their raw nakedness
no longer cloaked in hope

running past the memories
of where you brushed
cheeks, kissed my lips,
dropping into sweet oblivion

tears welling from eyes
that held you in the warm corners
of my heart and told you
so from across the room

each drop a song
in that sad note of lost
tomorrows played to the
rhythm of emptiness

who knows who is wrong
when hearts do not
dance in unison any longer
tears cannot tell

(February 16, 2004)

Leave a Reply

